History & Humanities

At a glance

What: High-quality instruction and innovative programming in history, literature, and culture

Who: Taught by leading educators and historians from UW-Madison and across the region

Certification: Programs meet multiple requirements and standards for continuing education

Questions? Contact program coordinator Kim Seymour at kimberly.seymour@wisc.edu or 608-262-3731


Upcoming classes/workshops
(Click class title for details and to register)
F, Aug 12; 6:30-11pm Sa, Aug 13; 10am-11pm Su, Aug 14; 10am-12:30pm  •  Option 1: | 5 Lectures and Behind-the-Scenes tour | Register by July 15. | $90.00 | | Option 2: | 5 Lectures and Behind-the-Scenes tour, plus tickets to "A Comedy of Errors" and "King Lear." | Must reserve by May 15 to guarantee seating. | $175.00
Tue, Sep 20-Nov 1, 9:30-11am (no class Oct 11)  •  One class: $14 | One session (3 classes): $34 | Both sessions (6 classes): $60
3 sessions, Tue-Thu, Sep 20-27, 7-8:15pm Field trip Sun, Sep 25  •  $40
4 sessions, Tue-Thu, Sep 20-29, 7-8:15pm  •  $50
4 weeks, Wed, Sep 21-Oct 12, 7-8:30pm  •  $50
4 weeks, Tue, Sep 27-Oct 18, 7-8:15pm  •  $65
Thu, Sept 29-Oct 20, 7-8:30pm  •  $60
4 weeks, Tue, Oct 4-Nov 1, 5:30-7pm (no class Oct 18)  •  $60
3 weeks, Tue, Oct 4-18, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $40
4 weeks, Thu, Oct 6-27, 9:45-11:45am  •  $80
Tue, Oct 18, 5-6:30pm  •  $15
3 weeks, Thu, Oct 20-Nov 3, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $40
3 weeks, Tue, Oct 25-Nov 8, 6:30-8pm  •  $40
4 weeks, Wed, Oct 26-Nov 16, 7:15-8:45pm  •  $60
3 weeks, Tue, Nov 1-15, 7-8:15pm  •  $40
3 weeks, Thu, Nov 3-17, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $40
Special & related programs
Enjoy free presentations by retired UW-Madison faculty renowned for their teaching excellence.
Experience breathtaking scenery and landmarks, behind-the-scenes insight from experienced guides, and world-class performances.
High-quality language and culture instruction in many world languages for conversation, travel, or business.
Experience Shakespeare online, on stage, or through 1-day workshops. Dig deeper into his work and find your own approach to enjoy the plays, language, and live performances.
Join other booklovers at the downtown Madison Public Library for exciting discussions of world literature.