History & Humanities

At a glance

What: High-quality instruction and innovative programming in history, literature, and culture

Who: Taught by leading educators and historians from UW-Madison and across the region

Certification: Programs meet multiple requirements and standards for continuing education

Questions? Contact program coordinator Kim Seymour at kimberly.seymour@wisc.edu or 608-262-3731


Upcoming classes/workshops
(Click class title for details and to register)
Tue, Jul 18, 5:30-7pm  •  $15
Sat, Jul 22, 10am-11pm  •  $90
Mon-Fri, Jul 24-28, 9am-4pm  •  $275
9 weeks; Mon, Sep 11-Nov 20, 7-8:30pm (no class Sep 25, Oct 30)  •  $155
6 weeks; Tue, Sep 12-Oct 31, 9:30-11am (no class Oct 3 & 10)  •  One class: $14 | One section (three classes): $34 | Both sections (six classes): $60
3 weeks; Tue, Sep 12-26, 7-8:15pm (includes optional field trip on Sun, Oct 1)  •  $60
4 weeks; Wed, Sep 13-Oct 4, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Tue, Sep 19-Oct 10, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Thu, Oct 12-Nov 2, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Tue, Oct 17-Nov 7, 5:30-7pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Wed, Oct 18-Nov 8, 5:30-7pm  •  $60
3 weeks; Thu, Oct 19-Nov 2, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $45
4 weeks; Tue, Oct 24-Nov 14, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Wed, Nov 1-29, 7:30-8:45pm (no class Nov 22)  •  $60
4 sessions; Tue & Thu, Nov 7-16, 7-8:15pm  •  $60
Special & related programs
Enjoy free presentations by retired UW-Madison faculty renowned for their teaching excellence.
Experience breathtaking scenery and landmarks, behind-the-scenes insight from experienced guides, and world-class performances.
High-quality language and culture instruction in many world languages for conversation, travel, or business.
Experience Shakespeare online, on stage, or through 1-day workshops. Dig deeper into his work and find your own approach to enjoy the plays, language, and live performances.
Join other booklovers at the downtown Madison Public Library for exciting discussions of world literature.