History & Humanities

At a glance

What: High-quality instruction and innovative programming in history, literature, and culture

Who: Taught by leading educators and historians from UW-Madison and across the region

Certification: Programs meet multiple requirements and standards for continuing education

Questions? Contact program coordinator Kim Seymour at kimberly.seymour@wisc.edu or 608-262-3731


Upcoming classes/workshops
(Click class title for details and to register)
9 weeks; Mon, Feb 5-Apr 9, 7-8:30pm (no class Mar 26)  •  $155
4 weeks; Tue, Feb 13-Mar 6, 5:30-7pm  •  $60
6 weeks; Tue, Mar 6-Apr 17, 9:30-11am (no class Mar 27)  •  One class: $14 | One section (three classes): $34 | Both sections (six classes): $60
4 weeks; Tue, Mar 6-27, 7-8:30pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Wed, Mar 7-28, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $60
4 weeks; Thu, Mar 8-Apr 5, 5:30-7pm (no class Mar 29)  •  $60
Sun, Mar 11, 2-3pm  •  Free
4 weeks; Tue, Apr 3-24, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $60
3 weeks; Wed, Apr 4-18, 7:30-8:45pm  •  $45
4 weeks; Thu, Apr 5-26, 7:30-8:45pm On Apr 12 class will meet at the UW Geology Museum (1215 W. Dayton St.)  •  $60
Sun, Apr 22, 2-3pm  •  Free
Special & related programs
Enjoy free presentations by retired UW-Madison faculty renowned for their teaching excellence.
Experience breathtaking scenery and landmarks, behind-the-scenes insight from experienced guides, and world-class performances.
High-quality language and culture instruction in many world languages for conversation, travel, or business.
Experience Shakespeare online, on stage, or through 1-day workshops. Dig deeper into his work and find your own approach to enjoy the plays, language, and live performances.
Join other booklovers at the downtown Madison Public Library for exciting discussions of world literature.