Wisconsin Wrights: Advisory committee

2013 Advisory Committee & Final Panel

Sarah Marty is the Director of the UW-Madison Continuing Studies in Theatre Programs. She has a Master's Degree in Business from the Bolz Center for Arts Administration, an MS in Curriculum & Instruction, and a Bachelor of Music Education degree from UW–Madison. Sarah was the 2008 recipient of the Bartell Award for Excellence in the Arts.  She works with a number of arts organizations in Madison including Four Seasons Theatre Company, the Madison Early Music Festival, Forward Theater Company, and Madison Theatre Guild. In addition, she is the Production Manager and Director for the UW Varsity Band Spring Concert.

Jennifer Uphoff Gray is the Artistic Director of Forward Theater Company and directed In the Next Room and Moonlight & Magnolias for their 2010-2011 season.  Other recent projects include directing a staged reading of A Thousand Words, by Gwendolyn Rice, for Milwaukee Chamber Theatre, Love’s Labour’s Lost for Milwaukee Shakespeare (“Best of 2008”) and The Diary of Anne Frank for Madison Repertory Theatre (“Best of 2008”). She produced (and directed for) the Madison Rep’s 2007 New Play Festival. Other credits include: the National Tour of Copenhagen, Associate Director of Copenhagen, Cabaret, The Blue Room (starring Nicole Kidman) and The Life on Broadway. Off-Broadway, she directed the world premiere of the musical Suburb. Her work has also been seen at Second Stage, Musical Theater Works, Ensemble Studio Theater, HERE (all in New York City) and the Chunchon International Theater Festival in South Korea. She holds a degree in Dramatic Literature and Stage History from Harvard College.

Manon van de Water joined the faculty at the University of Wisconsin in 1998 and teaches courses in theatre for youth, theatre research, and directs and supervises the theatre for young audience’s productions. She currently serves as the Department of Theatre and Drama’s Director of Theatre Production for University Theatre. Her research interests have a strong international focus, and include the interdependence of meaning and material conditions in theatre for adults and youth, Russian theatre, international theatre for youth, and theatre and drama in volatile regions. Professor van de Water is the liaison of the American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) with AATE and ITYARN, and chair of ITYARN, the International Theatre for Young Audiences Research Network of ASSITEJ. Aside from research activities, she has also given numerous national and international workshops on theatre/drama education, and has been invited as a jury member to international TYA festivals. Manon holds a Ph.D. in Theatre from Arizona State University and Doctorandus in Slavic Languages and Literature, University of Leiden, The Netherlands.

David Wells served as Executive Director of Edenfred, the creative residency program of the Terry Family Foundation, from 2004 through 2010. In this capacity he developed the arts residency programs, a statewide forum for arts curators, and a Day Fellows program which is popular with local writers. Through David Wells Creative Services LLC, he continues his work with Edenfred and as an independent curator and consultant. He has pursued interdisciplinary interests as an exhibiting artist, independent curator and arts administrator for over 30 years. He has exhibited across the United States as well as in Mexico, Japan and Czech Republic, with numerous solo installation exhibits in Southern California and Wisconsin. Wells has served on numerous jury panels including National Endowment for the Arts, WI Arts Board grant awards, the James Watrous Gallery of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, Overture Center for the Arts, and Art Fair on the Square. Wells currently serves as Board President of the Wormfarm Institute in Reedsburg, WI and on the board of OPEN (Out Professional & Executive Network) Madison.

Michael C. Wright became Milwaukee Chamber Theatre's Producing Artistic Director in the fall of 2005. Since then, he's directed many of their production including two original works, THE DALY NEWS and DICKENS IN AMERICA (a collaboration with American Players Theatre). From 1997-2005, he served as Associate Artistic Director of Next Act Theatre. Since moving to Wisconsin in 1988, Michael has been responsible for over 60 productions, fifteen of which have been named on "Best of" lists in Milwaukee and Madison. Other favorites have been THE SYRINGA TREE for American Players Theatre, Renaissance Theaterworks and Delaware Theatre Company, LOBBY HERO for Madison Repertory Theatre, 110 IN THE SHADE for Skylight Opera Theatre, AUGUST SNOW for American Inside Theatre and WAITING FOR VERN for Collision Theatre Ensemble. Michael has taught theatre privately and at UW-Whitewater, Marquette University, Carroll College, First Stage Academy, Alverno College, the John Michael Kohler Arts Center, the Wisconsin Conservatory of Music and Theatre for a New Audience (New York, NY). In 2009, Michael was honored with an "Artist of the Year" award by the City of Milwaukee Arts Board.