P. B. Poorman Award

Friday, October 18th, 7:00 PM

The UW System P.B Poorman Award was initiated in 2006 to recognize a UW System faculty, academic or classified staff, or registered UWS student for their excellence in advocacy, research, teaching, or service on behalf of the LGBTQ communities. The award recognizes outstanding achievement as evidenced by consistent and significant contributions to the LGBTQ communities within the UW System beyond job responsibilities.

The award is named after the late Professor P.B. Poorman who played an instrumental role in the foundation of the UW System Inclusivity Initiative for LGBTQ People. Her contributions to improving the lives of LGBTQ students, faculty, and staff through research, teaching, service and advocacy all served to define the systemwide Inclusivity Initiative. Dr. Poorman used her boundless energy, humor, and determination foster action and to help the organizing effort gain recognition from the wider university community. To honor Dr. Poorman’s legacy to the state of Wisconsin, the University of Wisconsin System and the LGBTQ communities, the UW System LGBTQ Inclusivity Initiative established this annual award in her name.

Dejan Kuzmanovic, Associate Professor, English, UW-Stevens Point is 2013 UW System P. B Poorman Award Recipient

UW System Outstanding Women of Color in Education

Saturday, October 19th, 12:00 PM
(You may register to attend just the luncheon. See registration page)

The UW System Outstanding Women of Color in Education Awards were initiated in 1994 to acknowledge the ties and shared concerns among administrators, faculty, staff, and students within Women’s Studies and Ethnic Studies, and to uphold a continuing commitment to Plan 2008: Education Quality through Racial and Ethnic Diversity. That commitment continues through support for multiple accessibility and diversity efforts throughout the UW System.
Annually each UW system institution is asked to identify a recipient of award. The honorees can be faculty, students, staff or community members who meet the award criteria. In addition to acknowledgements by their home campus or institution, the honorees are invited to the annual UW System Outstanding Women of Color in Education Awards ceremony and for statewide recognition. This event is co-sponsored by the UW System Women’s Studies Consortium and the UW System Office of Diversity Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

2013 Outstanding Women of Color in Education Award Recipients
PaFoua Kue, UW-Colleges
Fabiola Diaz, UW-Extension
Catherine Emmanuelle, UW-Eau Claire
Margaret (Toni) Lardinois, UW-Green Bay
Dorothy Her, UW-La Crosse
Roberta Hill, UW-Madison
Carmen Valdez, UW-Madison
Sharon Adams, UW-Milwaukee
Raazia Riffat, UW-Oshkosh
Louise Loud, UW-Parkside
Yuanyaun Hu, UW-Platteville
Andriel M. Dees, UW-River Falls
Elia J. Armacanqui-Tipacti, UW-Stevens Point
Maleka (Polly) Hashmi, UW-Stout
Nathalie Isis Crowley, UW-Superior
Christina N. Outlay, UW-Whitewater
Heather Kim, UW System Administration