The Wisconsin Certified Public Manager® (CPM) Program is a nationally accredited management development program. Gain cutting-edge knowledge and learn practical skills from experienced experts.

The CPM Program prepares managers in federal, state, and local government and in tribal and non-profit organizations for the challenges and unique demands of the public management profession. You can do self-directed certification or choose to be part of a cohort (colleague group).

At a glance

What: 300-hour, nationally accredited certificate program preparing government, tribal, and nonprofit employees for the unique challenges and demands of public management

Who: Taught by UW-Madison staff and leading specialists and consultants in leadership, management, and workplace skills

How: 3 ways to learn—get certified with a self-directed program, get certified with a cohort group, or take individual classes if your end goal isn't certification

When: Self-directed certification can begin any time; individual classes run Sept-June. The next cohort group to start in March 2018. To be notified when cohort group dates are set, please contact Sunshine Jansen at sunshine.jansen@wisc.edu.

Cost: Costs vary—see FAQs for more information

Questions? Contact program director Robbi Dreifuerst at robbi.dreifuerst@wisc.edu or 608-262-3830

View the overview brochure»
View the Sep-Dec 2017 class brochure»

Why should you join
the CPM program?

Besides enhancing your administrative, technical, analytical, management, and communication skills, you'll network with statewide and national cadres of professional public managers, learning from and with representatives of other governmental units, with the backing, resources, and staff of UW-Madison behind you. View brochure»


Upcoming CPM leadership/management classes
(Click class title for details and to register)
Tue, Sep 26, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, Sep 27, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, Oct 11, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Thu, Oct 12, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Tue, Oct 17, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, Oct 18, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Five sessions: Tue-Thu, Nov 14-16; Wed-Thu, Nov 29-30, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $695 | Please note that payment is required at registration for this class.
Wed, Dec 13, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Thu, Dec 14, 8:30am-3:30pm  •  $165
Wed, Jan 17, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Thu, Jan 18, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Five sessions: Tue-Thu, Jan 23-25; Tue-Wed, Feb 6-7, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $695
Thu, Feb 15, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, Mar 7, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Thu, Mar 8, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Tue, Mar 20, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Tue, Apr 3, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, Apr 4, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, Apr 18, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Wed, May 2, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Tue, May 15, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Five sessions: Tue-Thu, May 22-24; Tue-Wed, Jun 5-6, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $695
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Thu, Jun 7, 8:30am-3:15pm  •  $165
Meet the program director
profile pictureRobbi Dreifuerst (MS, UW-Madison) directs the Wisconsin Certified Public Manager® Program. She is a member of the American Academy of Certified Public Managers and the Community Partnerships and Outreach (CPO) Staff Network at UW-Madison. She holds a Master's Degree in Adult and Continuing Education from UW-Madison.
LinkedIn profile»